Sunday, 16 February 2014

God evening guys!

 

We just got to the hotel, and my feet’s are DYING after walking so much during the day. Seriously, I don’t even look like a human when I am writing this.

 

I felt much better today comparing with yesterday when I almost through up. After the breakfast we hurried to the boat that was going to leave at 9 o’clock. We made it just in time, and it was quite embarrassing when mom was waving to the captain to wait. Mom can just be too much sometimes, but thanks to her we managed to get on the boat.

The tour would take about 3,5 hours, according to the schedule. To be honest, I got a bit seasick on the boat to Robben Island.  But you wouldn’t say anything to mom, would you?

 

When we arrived it was such a relief. Together with the group of curious tourists we started to visit the Maximum Security Prison where thousands of political prisoners were arrested from 1960-1991. Nelson Mandela was one of them and spent 18 years in the prisons small cells with only a sleeping mat and a bucket toilet. The prisoners also woke up at 5:30 to face a day with hard labour.

When we passed through the cell where Nelson Mandela once was imprisoned, I got a unique glimpse of what he went through. I couldn’t imagine how hard the living conditions could be and what kind of life the blacks had during the apartheid system. But Nelson didn’t give up. Together with his supporters they proved themselves to be men of steel and they were hoping of a new dispensation.

 

I actually got a little touched during the day. I could feel the lump in my throat every time I thought about how hard the life was between the walls of torture. After three very long hours including a bus ride we ended up at the museum gift shop. Dad bought a picture of Nelson watching through the bars. 

 

Back in Cape Town we tried new traditional dishes for lunch. This time I tried the Bobotie that is like the British shepherd’s pie, except that the topping is frothy custard instead of mashed potatoes. As the other dishes I’ve tried, this one was also delicious!

 

 

We continued to discover Cape Town and I suggested the Table Mountains cableway. The height of the cableway didn’t scare me at first, but well on I could feel the fear. I got really nice photo shots and those 11.10 pounds are so worth it!

 

When we walked towards the hotel in the evening, mom and dad told me to pack my bags. They had a surprise for me and we are leaving the hotel at noon tomorrow. I have a really strange feeling about this but hopefully it’s exiting!

 

 
 
Picture sources:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1nlKCSX34k
http://saklk.com/turkey-sausage-apple-cranberry-stuffing-recipe.html

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

RSS 2.0